Hi D.

I don't know how much I can say about this but I'll try. I've had no experience of Alters, so to me that sort of behaviour just seems as incomprehensibe as it likely does to you, indeed "childish" in it's most literal sense.

With isolating however, one thing at least for me is that people take work. I can deal with people, indeed I can get on stage and perform at people or give a lecture at an international conference, indeed using social skills and applied empathy to get people on side is one thing I'm good at and if you met me in person doubtless you'd think I was an absolute extravert and loved others company. Indeed, one counsellor I met for a first meeting, after a half hour of pleasant conversation, mild humour and friendliness actually asked me "why do you need counseling?" and it was only at that point that I realized what I was doing and forceably stopped.

This isn't to say it's false or putting up a front, it's just applying a set of learned skills in a given situation, much as someone who was an expert chess player but awkward at goodness knows how many other things would be a very different person across the chess board to how they'd be the rest of the time.

Given however that (honest though it is ), for me, interacting with people is a use of carefully learnt social skills and empathy, it is work. There is no other way of saying it, it's actually tiring!

to relax, recharge or whatever, for myself and doubtless for other intraverts too it's being alone does it. Being alone there is nobody to need to practice those skills for and I get to just be on my own resources, enjoyingreading, writing or whatever.