Today is a day I hope I never forget, for it represents a turning point in my recovery. That said, it was not a day that I would consider fun. It was filled with a lot of pain, hurt, anger, misery and tears. I hope I never again have to live through a day like today. However, I realize that I needed to experience today, so that tomorrow and each day thereafter will be blessed. When my time comes to leave this world, I want I will look back on today as the day when hope took charge.

By outward appearances I've lived a good life. I have the best set of parents a kid could expect. My childhood was primarily filled with love and many, many good times. Unfortunately, it was also the time I experienced an event that I kept secret for 40 years. Somehow, I survived, though, and have achieved what might be considered success. I graduated from college in the top 1% of my class. I have two master's degrees. I have a job I love, and I've been successful at it. Nevertheless, these successes have been overshadowed by a profound sadness that has accompanied me through my life. I have had trouble trusting people, and trouble getting along with people. As a result, I have had trouble making and keeping friends. This has left me always feeling alone, yet simultaneously, I have rejected any attempts to set me up with a woman. I've never had healthy sexual relationships. I've battled depression and anorexia-like behavior. No matter how hard I worked, it never seemed good enough. In addition, I have always felt that I was undeserving of all the success that happened to me. While I never experienced suicidal ideation, I often wondered if things would've been better if I'd never been born. Summarily I have always felt hollow, a shell of a man/child, incapable of fulfilling my humanity.