I blamed myself silently and deeply for complying. But if I acknowledged that what happened was wrong and bad, I would be turning my back on the only thing that made me feel special. All the people, the dreams, the future I wanted as a karate teacher myself... So I flicked the switch in my mind and in my soul, turned off the lights, and I thanked him for showing me “the stretch”. Any thoughts that arose that were counter to my falsified version of events were crushed like a cigarette butt beneath a boot.

From that point on, it had nothing to do with my pleasure. He would keep me behind after classes once or twice a week to “help” him. He asked me to start giving him massages to ease his stresses, which quickly lead to him pushing me further and further beyond my limits. Over time he would have me service him in riskier and riskier locations, like supply closets when other students were training on the other side of the unlocked door; his car on a quiet highway; the front seat in front of my house. He would sometimes grope me until my body responded, as if to prove to me that I was a willing participant, that this is something that I wanted. I was becoming more and more trapped into this situation, and couldn’t find a way to make it stop even if I could hear the little voices that bubbled up from my soul begging to get out.

Despite all of the lies that I told myself that I was a willing participant in what was happening, I have now come to accept that I was terrified of him. I thought he was capable of anything… violence, blackmail, exposing me to my peers… absolutely anything.