Newest Members
tammy m, TheConqueror, Bloom, JohnWC, KKumar
12423 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
dphoenix1701 (37), jaywiz2009 (69), mato (57)
Who's Online
3 registered (kcinohio, finallyhere, tbkkfile), 27 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12423 Members
74 Forums
63802 Topics
445527 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
#466655 - 06/15/14 08:09 PM Re: How it was possible for YOUR abuser? [Re: Still]
don64 Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: St. Croix, USVI
Hi Chris,

My situation was different than yours, but I have spent most of my life without a reference point inside myself for my reality. I'm only beginning to get my own reference point in my 60's.

Sending you love and support.

Don
Divine Law is not judgment or denial of self truths. Divine Law is honoring harmony that comes from a peaceful mind, an open heart, a true tongue, a light step, a forgiving nature, and a love of all living creatures. Jamie Sams & David Carson, Medicine Cards

#466682 - 06/16/14 02:20 PM Re: How it was possible for YOUR abuser? [Re: Still]
frankie72 Offline

Loc: Australia
- Had a family friend not groomed me from an early age.
- Had my parent not trusted him to look after me.
- Had my parents not seen how distant I had become.
- Had my parents looked for a reason why I was getting drunk and smoking pot at the age of 14.
- Had my parents thought something was wrong, rather than bling me for being rude and distant to my abuser.
- Had my father not beaten me to take out his frustrations.
- Had my mother not ignored what was going on around her.
- Had I any adult in my life I could trust.

Thirty years on, it is still like yesterday. Sometimes I can bury it, but it still lurks near the surface. Apart from the rare individual, there is no one I trust or rely upon.