Newest Members
lilac, The Wife Of, smusab, whiteflag, North101
12287 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
cyclebreaker (41), monkeybusinessinky (28), Tom Byrnes (55), wind west (30)
Who's Online
2 registered (takingitslow, 1 invisible), 29 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12287 Members
73 Forums
63219 Topics
442062 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#442742 - 07/31/13 09:46 AM I am Dating a Survivor...help me understand him
ofig1334 Offline

So its been almost a year since i met this really great guy who I will call K. K is a really great guy. He started off trying to date girls like most normal guys. He soon realized he was sexually attracted to guys. He considers himself gay now. I have managed to get him to open up about his abuse. We met up for a late night dinner at a 24hr restaurant. I start talking about stuff that happened at work and sexual abuse(I work in Law Enforcement). He looked over at me and said he had been abused. I didnt know it then but I had open doors to something that I feel he didnt really wanna talk about but trusted me enough to. He started to tell me about how is Grandmother's brother had sexually abused him when he was younger and how he never really told anyone until late in life and when he told them they didnt really believe him. After he told me about his abuse he went a long while without talking to me as if he felt I was ashamed of it felt bad for it. I understand his abuse, even though I was never abused myself I went through alot growing up as a child. I came from a separated home and a pretty ruff up bring, I dont know how I made it into Law Enforcement. LOL. He comes from a well off type of family that tries to make everything seem as if it is perfect when it is not. For example his Bother had a baby when he was young so K's mom and dad adopted the kid as there and raised it not wanting anyone to know that there K's brother had fathered a child. I have only known K