Newest Members
RodrigoBR, MJ545, Marant, BeingFound, journey4two
12332 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
blueelectron9 (48), Grunty1967b (2014), highflight (42), jocks44 (54), kitm1 (47), Porrick (44)
Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 17 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12332 Members
74 Forums
63413 Topics
443354 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#424600 - 02/07/13 08:51 AM EMDR
Jude Offline

Loc: New England
I've been undergoing EMDR therapy for 3+ months now and at this point I can recommend it without hesitation. Its kind of crazy in that it brings all kinds of things to mind, some painful memories and some pleasant. At one point it put me right back in the CSA I experienced at 13, reliving all the sensations, emotions, sights, sounds, even smells, of that awful time. It also allowed me to remember some details of the abuse which revealed that the CSA was more extensive than I had remembered.

More importantly I have seen the occurrence of flashbacks and nightmares diminish significantly, which in turn has made it easier to deal with all the other issues, like self-hatred, shame, fear, anger, and sexual acting out. I've included a link to a web site with information about EMDR, and invite any others to share their experience with this therapy, or post questions about it.

EMDR Network
But he never betrays what he thinks.
Can you see the real me, doctor?.
The Who

#424603 - 02/07/13 10:25 AM Re: EMDR [Re: Jude]
Robert1000 Offline