I wanted to title this with the environment because that was one of the first causes I took to heart. The prevailing disregard for the environment and its welfare was easy for me to justify. That began in college, where I also studied human evolutionary biology, which deals a lot with relationships between life, humans, and the ecology.
When I graduated, I also went abroad to teach in Africa. There, I was reintroduced to issues of international development, and the impact of colonial history. My father had been working to resolve the conflicts involved with these issues.
After teaching overseas, I soon got involved working in foster care and substance abuse treatment. These all lead me to the need, and tools available, for therapy.
Meanwhile, my relationships with girls had tended to be short-lived. I wasn't really clear why, although I had vaguely perceived some kinds of deep-seated fears in myself. I wasn't really able to articulate them that well.
I was also aware that I wasn't all that comfortable around the mainstream roughhousing and partying. The thought of keg parties and frat parties and jocks tended to make me nervous. I guess my awareness was that there were serious problems in the world, and most people didn't seem to care.

While working in social services in New York, I had taken up practicing Jiu-Jitsu to give myself confidence in physical confrontations. There had been a few close calls in Africa. I also took some acting classes and holistic healing workshops. By the time I started a second position after a year and a half at one job, I started dating a new girl. She was the friend of a friend, and had called me up to ask me out. In fact, she had just graduated school, and was trying to decide between Boston and New York. Meeting me seemed to lead her to New York. Auspicious as that was to start, four months later she broke up with me, telling me, "I feel critical of you."