Newest Members
JayNL, Robert Barrett, lostsoul824, beatcook, MassGuy
12279 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
cainrafael (28), GL (67), JohnP725 (66), Lloydy (61), Marie-TwoOfUs (35)
Who's Online
5 registered (WriterKeith, WontGiveUp, 3 invisible), 31 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12279 Members
73 Forums
63185 Topics
441826 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#59306 - 12/23/05 06:26 PM New Member with a Question
Rachel Offline

Hi Everyone,

I'm totally new to this and I'm so glad I've found this place. I've been in a relationship with a survivor for almost 8 months now. Although he is willing to tell me about the abuse he endured, he is not willing to see it as such and believes that it was either his fault, his choice, or not a big deal. But it's obvious that the incidents have had a huge impact on his life and relationships. He has problems with internalizing his emotions. He's very distant and, as some might say, "gamey." The abuse he suffered has caused a great deal of problems for him, but he seems unwilling to deal with these problems or the root cause. I love this man more than I have ever loved anyone before. There has to be a way I can help. If anyone has any suggestions, I am completely open to them.

Thanks,
Rachel

#59307 - 12/23/05 07:22 PM Re: New Member with a Question
Trish4850 Offline
BoD Liaison Emeritus
MaleSurvivor<

Loc: New Jersey
Hi Rachel,

That's a tough place to be, I should know, I'm there right now and it's been part of the subject of a couple of very recent threads.

I'm actually on my way out the door, so I can't properly respond to you directly, but take a look at I'm losing this one and the Tough Love threads. Hopefully they will give you a little insight.

Other's will respond to you, I'm sure. No one who reaches out is left alone.

We'll talk soon.

ROCK ON..........Trish

#59308 - 12/23/05 07:34 PM Re: New Member with a Question
Kirk Wayne Offline
MaleSurvivor