Newest Members
RepressedMem, jet_step, JimHouston42, GKB, MorganWut
12468 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
AndyP (48), Gaius (50), JoziSA (52), mmafan66 (48), nltsaved (36), RMM (52), Steve63 (51), zenboy (51)
Who's Online
2 registered (2 invisible), 26 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12468 Members
74 Forums
64028 Topics
446830 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#56489 - 12/03/03 01:38 PM If I suspect SA, should I bring up the topic???
kolisha54 Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Brooklyn, NY
Hello everyone! I am new to MS & just want to thank you all for bringing me such comfort & perspective. Here's my question: I have been "involved" for about 10 yrs. with someone I truly love, but we have never gotten physically intimate. I am 100% sure he has had no sexual contact with anyone else either. The 2 of us lost touch with eachother for about 5 yrs. but are now back in eachother's lives. Although my friend is much more forthcoming, warm, & affectionate than before, no longer flinches when we touch, and actually responds to non-sexual caresses, we are still doing the "come here - go away" dance. Although he has alluded to some trauma having taken place, he has never specifically mentioned SA. As a female rape survivor myself, I know that healing can't take place without breaking the silence. On the other hand, I worry that if I am the one to bring up the issue, it will seem like a violation. I do not want to do ANYTHING that would make him more uncomfortable, but it hurts me so much to think of him being in pain. I would love some direction here, especially from male survivors. Thanks much!!!

#56490 - 12/03/03 03:42 PM Re: If I suspect SA, should I bring up the topic???
PAS Offline

Loc: Canada
Could be a lot of reasons for this distance.. shyness, fear, other abuse issues??

I dont know if you can really suspect sexual abuse based on this de>