I thought it was cool that this priest had a handgun.
I remember the first time I saw him. I turned to my classmate in my freshman religion class and asked ďWhoís this guy?Ē He told me it was ďFather RĒ, and that ďheís really coolĒ. I asked what was so cool about him. My friend told me the priest used to be a New York City cop until he joined the priesthood and that he still had a gun. I was told that he had shown his gun to some guys in school. My friend told me that Father R even lets guys drink booze in his office. I thought, No way! Really? Wow, he is cool.

My friend went on to telI me he knew a bunch of guys that have gotten drunk with this priest, even the quarterback of our varsity team and a lot of well-liked and athletic guys in my school. My friend went on to tell me that the priest was funny and he made light of the more serious subject of sex, telling jokes about sex and celibacy.

I was a 13 year old freshman, one of the youngest in my grade, and I watched Father closely that first day. He wasnít like all the other teachers. The class work seemed secondary, and just hanging out with the students seemed like his primary goal. This priest seemed way cooler than all the others I had encountered in my previous 8 years of Catholic education. I couldnít believe it, a policeman, a priest, my teacher, and he coached on the wrestling team. He was an imposing figure too, big guy, tall, 225-250 lbs. I admired him and he seemed like the kind of person that any young man would aspire to be. I canít say that first day I wished to be known by him, but after weeks and months went on I wished that I could be in the group of boys that he counted as trustworthy enough to show me his gun and have alcohol in his office.