It was a few days before Christmas. We were living in an old and cheap rented house in a run-down part of the city in a northern mid-west city. I was taking care of our two children while my wife was out for the evening with her mom or a friend. Our year-old daughter was upstairs asleep in her crib. Our three-year-old son was playing on the living room floor. I was lying on the sofa – tired from a day of work at a minimum-wage job outside of my area of expertise –overwhelmed by all the circumstances that I had been fighting for the past six months – and depressed and devastated by the toxic memories that had been bubbling up through my deteriorating defenses like a backed up sewer.

We had moved cross-country during the summer to live in a place where we could afford to live on a single income and get closer to family. But I had not been able to find a job in my field. Now we were at the end of our savings and I was severely under-employed. We had no close friends, no support system other than my in-laws – who had been opposed to our marriage – and who made me feel inadequate and defensive. We had recently left an extreme controlling religious cult – which made me feel used and violated and stupid for having been manipulated for so long – and seriously doubting my own judgment. Additionally, it was cold and snowy and gloomy – a huge change from the warm and sunny Southern California we had left. Utility bills were high, pipes froze and cars did not start. We were reduced to accepting help from charity for groceries and Christmas gifts for our kids.

And while my self-esteem was at an all-time low, insidious memories and dreams were invading my every waking moment. Knowledge and images and feelings and thoughts that I had successfully repressed and forgotten for decades. Stuff that made me feel even worse: abuse and bullying and neglect and dysfunction and denial. No wonder I felt damaged and dirty and worthless.