Newest Members
Mike Boyd, Serenity40, markm, hans32, SilentNoLonger
12133 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
casey (45), flaredsoul (31), Madcap (29), susie24 (59)
Who's Online
4 registered (Esposa, pufferfish, learning2luvme, 1 invisible), 74 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12133 Members
73 Forums
62563 Topics
438367 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#453152 - 11/10/13 06:56 PM Asking alums for money
DavoSwim Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Iowa, USA
Today I received a call from the university where I earned a master's degree. They were calling alumni asking for money. A couple of years ago on Good Friday, the college newspaper published a cartoon in both the printed version and the online version of the newspaper which depicted a group of priests driving around in a van, putting on an Easter bunny costume, trying to lure young boys into their van. While it never mentioned for what purpose, the intent was clear. The caption on the cartoon was simply "Happy Easter." I found this cartoon particularly offensive, and it was even more so when my past history of CSA is factored in. I made the decision right there that I would no longer give money to this university. It is no longer the university I graduated from. The artist and editors may feel that their First Amendment rights permit them to publish anything they wish, and they are almost 100% correct. However, that doesn't mean that their decisions will be warmly received. It is extremely insensitive to any victims of sex abuse to see their experience used as a source of alleged humor on a religious holiday.