Newest Members
Robert Barrett, lostsoul824, beatcook, MassGuy, wiresguy1
12278 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
carter (51), CAW1980 (34), Fissy Tsickens (53), Kris (52), Wheatthins (23)
Who's Online
6 registered (don64, highflight, tbkkfile, 3 invisible), 24 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12278 Members
73 Forums
63173 Topics
441747 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#441347 - 07/19/13 09:03 AM Newby - does anyone else feel this way?
gregpo1 Offline

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting, and my first time sharing with anyone but my wife, and therapist. I "came out" about 18 months ago, bursting into tears one night, sharing w my wife (I was 34), possibly inspired/moved by the penn state affairs, and some distant family current events.

From about the age of 8-14, I was molested regularly, by an older sister, in our home, on planes, in cars, etc. I otherwise had a "normal" childhood - mom drank a bit too much, dad worked hard and was awful with money - suburbs, nice house, nice cars, decent schools.

Years later - I definitively think of myself as a bad person. The center of evil is quite clearly my soul. Somehow I've managed to have a successful (yet I cringe at the thought, or people suggesting, commenting on my professional success) career, an amazing wife who genuinely loves me and compliments me, and as of 12 months ago a perfect son.

I have horrible issues with relationships, emotions, especially around the home (where most of the abuse occurred, I'm remarkably stable at work). I'm a male, abuser (although I still feel guilty, of course I was the abuser...) was older sister by 3 years.

Questions: have any of you gone through this, or are you, how did you deal, what do you recommend??

I'd welcome thoughts, stories, feedback, advice, guidance from any and all.

Thank you

#441349 - 07/19/13 11:32 AM Re: Newby - does anyone else feel this way? [Re: gregpo1]
newground Offline