Newest Members
Mike Boyd, Serenity40, markm, hans32, SilentNoLonger
12133 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
casey (45), flaredsoul (31), Madcap (29), susie24 (59)
Who's Online
2 registered (Mike Boyd, 1 invisible), 68 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12133 Members
73 Forums
62563 Topics
438363 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#440105 - 07/05/13 03:18 AM Just to prove that some people do get it.
dark empathy Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: durham, north england
This is something that utterly surprised me.

I'm a doctor who fan (at least up until the current producer took over), and have been collecting the audio stories produced by the company big finish, (to my mind the best doctor who currently around). For all none brits, Doctor who is a long running scifi series about an alien who travels around time and space in an old police telephone box.

I was reading reviews of some of the audio stories, and was utterly amazed by the conclusions this particular reviewer Thomas cookson drew from this audio adventure.

I don't always agre with Thomas cookson's conclusions, but I do love reading his comments since I find them fascinating, but here I was utterly staggered! here's a man deriving some of the best conclusions about male sa and society from of all things a story about futuristic mega coorporation who revive the creator of the Daleks (the most destructive race in the galaxy), to work for them.

This is possibly why I like Doctor who so much, since when it's done well (as in Davros), it can be amazingly poignient, but needless to say I never drew these conclusions. Stil, I find it really heartening to think that a scifi fan, ---- who as far as I know is not in the least an abuse surviver drew this sort of conclusion, just on his own through listening to stories about a time travelling alien and a power mad half cyborg in a wheel chair.

here's the artical:

http://www.pagefillers.com/dwrg/bfdavros.htm#5