Newest Members
lilac, The Wife Of, smusab, whiteflag, North101
12287 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
adam319 (46), Bellemaman (36), Bob G. (58), S D Witwicky (38)
Who's Online
4 registered (GummyBear, Shyshark, 2 invisible), 25 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12287 Members
73 Forums
63226 Topics
442125 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#419460 - 12/18/12 10:52 AM Im pretty new to this (like a few hours)
Querida Offline

Hi guys, Right so heres my back story. I have a very close male friend.. a boyfriend I suppose you would say although we havnt labeled it as that to family and friends yet. He is roughly my age (19/20) and today he confessed to me that he was sexually abused as a child. I have a fairly checkered history myself in that my first boyfriend died, and a very close friend of mine has been in prison for manslaughter, and i started having sex at a very early age. However I have never before come across someone I knew had bee abused. Him telling me was a very big step in our relationship and im really confused about how to help him for the best. He seems a little withdrawn since he told me but i suppose that is to be expected?

Are there any topics I should avoid or broach as we begin to get our baring with the new sittuation and generally does anybody have any advice about my predicument?

#419463 - 12/18/12 11:44 AM Re: Im pretty new to this (like a few hours) [Re: Querida]
Candu Offline

Loc: Canada
Hi Querida,

I'm at work and don't have time to do much of a reply right now. But if you see him before you learn much what you want to do is to tell him that he is OK. That you are sad that this happened to him but you still want to be with him. That you appreciate him trusting you enough to tell you this.

Sorry this is all I have time for.

#419470 - 12/18/12 12:32 PM Re: Im pretty new to this (like a few hours) [Re: Querida]
SamV Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Talladega, Alabama, USA