Newest Members
Lumpy, squeekinby, rhyoung, Jefferson22, OxfordArms
12369 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Avyi (49), cross29min (59), Dartel (50), ernie (70), flightmedic38 (40), jggab (42), kev (66)
Who's Online
6 registered (6 invisible), 20 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12369 Members
74 Forums
63568 Topics
444128 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#399258 - 06/03/12 10:35 AM A realization, people's perceptions don't work.
dark empathy Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: durham, north england
LAst night I met up with a friend of mine to do what we do every few weeks or so, listen to random music for a bit, have weerd discussions, and eventually go out to a decent restaurant for a drink and some grub.

After trying a few places, said restaurant proved to be a really amazing mexican, ---- as it turned out a very good mexican I knew when i did my degree that I thought was closed, but has reopened with a different name.

Over the course of the evening I got to talking to the waitress, indeed she started off by talking to my guide dog then i chatted to her about the fact that this looked suspiciously like the mexican I knew, and we just had general conversation sinse it was a relatively relaxed environment.

it transpired she was a biologist just finishing her degree and going on to post graduate research, but (like virtually eveyone who finishes a degree in Britain now), had to get the job as a waitress to keep stuff going.

we had quite an animated conversation over the evening (not exactly harmed by the sangrea I was drinking), about various topics, me just being friendly and relaxed as I would with someone, letting my people skills take over.