I'm not sure why, but I've been having a fairly bad few days, quite a relaps in fact. Maybe it was my rather stressful academic peer review of my thesis last wednesday, or maybe it's the fact that I'm coming to the end of my phd which i've been writing for the last five years, and will be utterly changing the direction of my life when it's done to train as a professional tenor.

But I've been really feeling worse over the past few days, ---- not quite as bad as I have been, but not where I really think I should be.

to compound this, I got an E-mail yesterday from a friend I haven't spoken to in a long time.

She is one of the few people I still know from the time my abuse happened, indeed back when I was 15 I thought I was in love with her, simply because she was the only person in my life close to my own age who didn't hate or feel indifferent to me, though I now recognize this wasn't actually love in the sense I'd think of it now, and it was a feeling that quickly faded once I met other people close to my own age and actually! fell in love properly for the first time.

The odd thing though was at the time I was a teenager it seemed that she was in a far worse position than I was.

she had some medical difficulties that meant she was pretty stuck at home, nearly lived on line and had a very overprotective family, where as I was studdying to go to university to do a degree, preparing to move out and live independently. This was indeed one of the things that made us drift slightly apart.

however, she did meet a bf online, they met each other, and got married.

I get a mail from her talking about how happy she is living in the states, how she's running her own business with her husband, and all the things that really caused problems back when she was younger are pretty much sorted (her family even agreed to her moving to the states).