***** POSSIBLE TRIGGERS *****

"The best way out is always through.
And I agree to that, or in so far
As that I can see no way out but through -
Leastways for me."

- Robert Frost, "A Servant to Servants", 1915

It's now past my 100 day mark on MS and I've yet to post anything about myself. The main blockage for me is that I minimize my sexual abuse and always have. I'd come to the conclusion that whatever happened to me is insignificant compared to what others have endured. It's also been difficult for me to identify the unique psychological effects of the CSA because the physical and emotional abuse I experienced as a child have always been much more prominent in my memory. They've seemed to explain most of the difficulties I've had throughout my life. And, for sure, different kinds of trauma share a lot of common after effects.

I've been recovering from my childhood and adolescence for over 20 years. When I first walked into an AlAnon meeting in 1989, having finally been brought to my knees by the long reach of my dad's alcoholism. I had no idea how much pain, sorrow, confusion, shame and self-loathing was packed inside me. Had I known I would have offed myself there and then. Another reason I didn't kill myself was that I also had no understanding then of what recovery would cost me in time and sweat and tears. But I can tell you now that it has been a remarkable journey -- one that has morphed from a brute struggle into a way of life -- a pilgrimage with no clear destination except the increasing freedom I've gained to be myself.