Newest Members
journey4two, VASurvivor, jayceemac, rwolf, FindingNemo
12328 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Alicia (55), bubblytam (56), crazydragon (39), JGag78 (36), kris82 (32), Shin (28)
Who's Online
1 registered (gatoonfanatic), 11 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12328 Members
74 Forums
63396 Topics
443246 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#356000 - 03/09/11 09:27 AM total wreck
vachssfan Offline

Loc: TX
i had clients in town yesterday from LA and Japan on a deal i've been working for over 6 months.
at work, i am the guy who gets things done no matter what. if it's a problem, i have a solution. my will is indomitable, blah blah blah, that's what my partners are used to seeing.

every ounce of me didn't want to put on my happy face and go meet these guys for what i knew would be a gruelingly long and tricky meeting with a potential landlord for them in one of the city's nicest shopping centers. a LOT of dick measuring and ego checking in that room.... and part of my job is managing it.

i made it through the meeting intact. it went decently well. i was *OK*.

we were then going to dinner with the clients. had to go to my office to amend a contract first. knocked it out. went to parking lot to get back in car. out of nowhere a truck pulls through lot with music BLARING. it came out of nowhere. the shock of hearing the bass boom out of nowhere sent me through the fucking roof.
in an instant i felt like i was going to jump out of my skin. i wanted to start crying but didn't. i started shaking so bad i almost couldn't drive. made it to the restaurant down the street from my office to meet them and had to sit in the car for an extra 5 min or so to get my hands under control. that *feeling* of being terrified wouldn't leave my body. and once the fear faded it was replaced with an all-consuming rage that made dinner hard.
i don't like feeling EITHER of those ends of the spectrum.