Newest Members
cricket1007, Nickie98, jahfree, Daryl X., tryintothrive
12496 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
joeybird (54), ladyinwaiting (46), txpearl (46)
Who's Online
3 registered (Sobrelithe, iaccus, Obi), 12 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12496 Members
74 Forums
64170 Topics
447791 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#345086 - 11/13/10 02:07 PM San Diego area?
savuti Offline

Loc: San Diego
I am new to MS. I'm beginning to realize that I think I need to take my recovery in a different direction. Though I have been helped greatly by my T over the last 3 years, my recovery feels stagnant and not progressing. After watching the Oprah shows over the past couple weeks, I am thinking that the support of others who truly understand is what I am missing. I am sad to see the lack of support groups in not only the San Diego area, but all of Southern California. Are there any groups out there that I am missing when I search?

#345598 - 11/17/10 09:08 PM Re: San Diego area? [Re: savuti]
john38 Offline

Loc: Pasadena CA
Hi I'm posting this here for any who may be interested.

There's a SIA (Survivors of Incest Anonymous) support group meeting in San Diego. Incest is defined loosely to include family members, friends, neighbors, teachers, clergy, doctors and others in a position of authority over us as children. Also, a second meeting on a different night of the week is going to be starting shortly.

I've been participating in SIA for 16 years in the Los Angeles area, and the amount of grow and comfort I've received from regular attendance at these meetings has been huge. Most importantly, due to the friendships I've developed with other survivors, via SIA, I never have to go through rough times alone any longer. I've had SIA friends help me when I was ill, go to doctor visits with me, hang out when I felt suicidal and the list goes on and on.