Newest Members
journey4two, VASurvivor, jayceemac, rwolf, FindingNemo
12328 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Alicia (55), bubblytam (56), crazydragon (39), JGag78 (36), kris82 (32), Shin (28)
Who's Online
4 registered (Nathan LaChine, journey4two, 2 invisible), 13 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12328 Members
74 Forums
63397 Topics
443261 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#34334 - 01/10/03 04:48 PM radical acceptance??????
michaelb Offline

Loc: cincinnati, ohio
Today my therapist told me i need to have "radical acceptance" of my abuse....she said it at the end of my session and i'm not sure of what she meant...Does anybody know about radical acceptance?????

Your help would be appreciated.

michael

#34335 - 01/10/03 07:21 PM Re: radical acceptance??????
Lloydy Offline
Administrator Emeritus
MaleSurvivor
Loc: England Shropshire
Michael
I'm no expert - hopefully one of our resident experts might know the real answer ?

But maybe she's suggesting a complete shift in the way you perceive your role in what happened to you ?

Let me repeat that - "what happened to you"

So many of us think that it was someting "we did" - and it wasn't. They did.

We have NO GUILT about what happened.

And I am confident that you didn't have any say in what happened to you, your other post where you say you resisted abusing someone shows that you are a strong person, you're here and in therapy working on your recovery.
You have the strength to gain "radical acceptance" of yourself.

Dave

#34336 - 01/11/03 03:02 PM Re: radical acceptance??????
michaelb Offline