Newest Members
journey4two, VASurvivor, jayceemac, rwolf, FindingNemo
12328 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
cja (49), crackerjack (55), nursemanda25 (33)
Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 14 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12328 Members
74 Forums
63403 Topics
443287 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#343198 - 10/26/10 08:24 PM My first time here, as well
davidm Offline
MaleSurvivor

My name is David.

On November 6 it will have been 25 years since I was raped the first time by a male instructor. I was an undergraduate at a Canadian university, and had just met that instructor earlier that day in a class he'd taught.

We got talking after class, and he asked me to join him and some of his colleagues for a few drinks that evening. The others left, and I was stranded. A blizzard had started, and I didn't have cab fare. He suggested I stay the night, and call a friend for a ride in the morning. I didn't suspect a thing.

When he attacked me, I just put my hands over my eyes and started saying over and over, "No. This is not happening." I was completely helpless. He was much bigger than me. But what really crippled me was my inability to accept the horror of what was happening.

The following month he stalked me -- by telephone and by mail, since I spent that month hiding in my apartment. I still have some of the notes.

When I returned to study, during the middle two weeks of December, he subjected me to several further assaults. Each was more violent than the one previous, as my psychological denial started to crack and I started to fight back. I went back into hiding.