Newest Members
JayNL, Robert Barrett, lostsoul824, beatcook, MassGuy
12279 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
melnjams (42), rage (27)
Who's Online
4 registered (susie, 1islandboy, 2 invisible), 26 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12279 Members
73 Forums
63188 Topics
441844 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#339339 - 08/31/10 08:52 PM Is he about to tell me?
WatchandWait Offline

Hi, this is my first time posting here.

I've been involved in a very deep friendship with a man for almost a year now. I love him, and I want to be with him, but while he clearly returns my emotional feelings, he is terrified of having a relationship...with me or with anyone.
I thought he was possibly phobic of relationships, but in the last several months, a death in his family has kicked up some deep family issues. In hearing him speak of these things, and particularly now that I'm focusing more on aspects of his childhood that he previously only glossed over, I've very recently come to the realization that there is possibly abuse in his past. My suspicion is that he either witnessed something, or experienced it first hand. Or both.

This is all quite hazy....it's just that as soon as this possibility dawned on me, it felt undeniably true. My heart has been literally aching ever since this hit me.