Newest Members
Anony_mous, Drew6991x, Miro, jj843, The Abyss
12364 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
gryffindor (67), KevinSweeney (57), latinflavor815 (52), latin_flavor_815 (52), RTMark (33), sabooka (35), southpaw10 (46)
Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 11 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12364 Members
74 Forums
63546 Topics
443994 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#325892 - 03/22/10 07:02 AM Master Gardner
earlybird Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: WA USA
In my youth I was a novice gardener who after planting a few flowers realized he could use some help and turned to a more experienced Master Gardener for advice and assistance. Out of a lack of confidence, I allowed him to plant in my garden knowing he was wiser and had better skills. I was trusting and didnít do my due diligence and by not doing this I remained blissfully ignorant. I didnít seek out different views or research various opposing ideas on how to make a garden. I looked to a single source to read about plants and their possibilities. I elected to read only one book, written by the gardener himself. He cautioned me not to look to others, for they wanted nothing more than to destroy my plot. He forewarned that these men were false and would saturate my garden with nothing but dandelions.

His flowers, they were magnificent and lovely, springing up almost instantaneously. They grew easily in my fertile soil. Over time his flora grew tall giving my fragile flowers shelter from the hot sun. They buffered my tiny breakable plants from the wind. I thanked and praised him for protecting the plants I had planted.