Newest Members
jeremywickers, JScott12, TMatti2, DaiseyLady, uvagrad4
12501 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
innocence (60), pablo999 (53)
Who's Online
0 registered (), 31 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12501 Members
74 Forums
64187 Topics
447908 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#309447 - 11/05/09 05:12 PM Consumed by Abuse Issues
jls Offline

I have been consumed by thinking about my abuse lately. Maybe because I'm a newbie to recovery I don't know. I'm not sure if it is a healthy thing or not but there is something comforting in calling what happened to me as a kid for what it is, abuse I mean. At the same time I want to move forward yet I have no idea what that would look like. Can other members here who are further along describe this for me, moving forward I mean? Also, is it normal for someone new to recovery to be so fixated on what happened to them in their past? If it is then great. To hear that would be re-assuring. At the same time it would be nice to hear that this isn't where I'm going to be for the rest of my life. Thanks for listening. JS

#309448 - 11/05/09 05:20 PM Re: Consumed by Abuse Issues [Re: jls]
Sans Logos Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: in my own world in pittsburgh,...
hi jls,

yes it is normal for it to occupy a lot of headspace. and that won't change for a while, but you can manage it, even though not totally eliminate it. it comes with the territory.

i have found that journaling regularly helps purge the thoughts and feelings.

unfortunately, you can't undo the events of sexual abuse. all you can do is learn to accept it, and deal with it on a day to day basis, like any other dis-ease.

sharing time in chat with other survivors, posting on the discussion board, finding a therapist, joining a healing circle, reading male survivor recovery books, and building a support system both within and outside MS will help you manage the collateral pain.