Newest Members
Barracuda312, Just Hanging, mossTI, E35, 1975
12339 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
GeneF48 (66), kun wang (32)
Who's Online
6 registered (GT13568, 5 invisible), 18 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12339 Members
74 Forums
63437 Topics
443447 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#30884 - 11/06/03 07:02 AM Why?
Nathan LaChine Offline
Webmaster
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Washington State
Brothers,

As I look back on my life I seem to only see how I failed people. For those that don't know I used to work as an Advocate. I have also worked as a CASA. I only seem to see where I failed in people's lives. I wish to learn how to be a better Advocate so I would like to post this. I am working on starting a flyer about male victims and ways to reach them. What I am paining on doing is printing/emailing/posting on my website and Advocate sites. I want to give people a better understanding of why male victims don't speak out about their abuse. How we all stereotype males, how and why males remain the silent victims.

I would like to know what everyone's thoughts and ideas are on this topic. I feel a sense of great knowledge on this topic from everyone here. This site has a wide range of people on it. I want to make my writing as complete and accurate as possible. So please please post any thoughts or ideas that you have.

Lots of love, Nathan

#30885 - 11/06/03 08:15 AM Re: Why?
Mike Church Offline
Moderator Emeritus
MaleSurvivor
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Nathan this is a good idea.

Why????

For me it was the shame, self loathing and the fear of rejection by society that kept me from speaking out.
Self loathing because I was 16 and thought I could prevent it. Self loathing because some of if felt good. I mean I was sexually aroused by it.