Newest Members
tammy m, TheConqueror, Bloom, JohnWC, KKumar
12423 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
biggbill70 (44), CP4 (24), EddieMi (46), EddieT (46), hemi1024 (54), Kage (70), kdj_74 (40), Knightswhitehart (49), otlhouston (47), TX_Space (47), VirtualBman (50)
Who's Online
2 registered (Scott1962, 1 invisible), 26 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12423 Members
74 Forums
63799 Topics
445511 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#292379 - 06/20/09 05:28 AM Returning To Martial Arts
nevermind Offline

Loc: Pennsylvania
I've been a student of martial arts, mostly Chinese origin, since I was a teenager. Throughout my life I've always found comfort in practicing my skills, mainly for self-defense but more for health in recent years.

My issues due to abuse finally caught up with me this year, though, and even though I've made a great deal of progress I'm having a tough time getting back into an active lifestyle. Recovery has taken a lot out of me, especially with the release of my deep anger that I've had for years.

I haven't become a bump on a log, but my lack of drive is noticeable...at least to me. I'm used to pushing myself physically, but maybe I'm entering a time in my life when I need to practice more patience with myself.

For all survivors, including me, I highly recommend tai chi and qigong. I've been taught by some of the best instructors in the U.S., now I just need to get back to moving again. If anyone else is into any kind of M.A., post here please. I could use your support and maybe lend some in return. I plan on posting here from time to time with updates on my progress.

Deep bows and best wishes.

Master Kan:
"The thorn defends the rose. It harms only those who would steal the blossom from the plant."

Kung Fu, Episode 4

#292386 - 06/20/09 08:55 AM Re: Returning To Martial Arts [Re: nevermind]
mike5 Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Cleveland, OH