Newest Members
Barracuda312, Just Hanging, mossTI, E35, 1975
12339 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
deaddreamer (41), hkkim (55), tony watashi (44)
Who's Online
6 registered (PhoenixRising, pattom, Aptrick, 3 invisible), 18 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12339 Members
74 Forums
63431 Topics
443429 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#279109 - 03/11/09 08:17 PM Ordinary People (Movie 1980) - spoilers
Jim1961 Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Pa, but likely traveling...
Newbie here. MS is a wonderful site. Thanks for all your encouragement!

I searched for "Ordinary People" on MS and someone mentioned it here back in August. Sorry to repeat a movie already discussed, but it has special meaning to me.

The movie came out in 1980, at a time when I was particularly self-destructive (age 19). I happened to watch it on HBO back then, and wow was it powerful. I cried very deeply during several parts. It had a positive effect on me.

I rented it a few times later (mid 80s). During times when I needed a "good cry". Two days ago (age 47) I downloaded it and watched again. Same reaction, but tried to understand what was so powerful. I'm sure that there are multiple levels (layers) that it hits, but one scene (the one I cry the most) made me realize something.

The story (spoiler alert!!!) is about the effects on a family after the first born son dies in a boating accident (the younger son, Conrad, survives). Conrad (wonderfully played by Timothy Hutton) attempts suicide after, is hospitalized at in a psychiatric ward and then released to go back home. This is when the movie starts.

The story deals with his relationship to mom and dad (and his friends too). Lots of stuff here, but the fantastic part of the story to me is his interaction with his therapist (Dr Berger, played by Judd Hirsch).