Newest Members
JohnWC, KKumar, J44, Anura, reynel5
12420 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
almostdonew/life (39), barelysurviving (45), bigbob20 (69), billyp (65), Shawv (70), TheTwoOfUs (43)
Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 27 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12420 Members
74 Forums
63772 Topics
445342 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#277596 - 02/28/09 02:24 PM Sent An E-mail
michael banks Offline

Loc: Mojave Desert, Ca
Guys,

Last week I did something that I have never done before in my life. As some of you may know I am a member of the Teamster Union. And their is a bill in congress which would make it easier for workers to organize themselves and join a union.
So I decide to send an email to my Senators and local congressman to state my position of support for this bill. And to ask them to also vote for it when it comes up before them in Washington.
It was not more than a couple of days and I have heard from all three of them. Diane Fenstein and Barbara Boxer my senators both support this bill and will vote for it when comes up for a vote.
My congressman Buck Mckeon on the other hand does not support this bill and he gave me his reason why.
So I send a reply back to him stating my disapointment on the position that he has chosen to take. That I hope he would reconsider his postion and that I will be watching to see how he votes when this bill comes up. And if he chooses to vote against it that he can count on not recieving my vote when he next runs for reelection.
That in fact I will be actively working to replace him in the next election with someone more in tune with the needs of of the average working person.

Damn it feels good to express my opinion to those that are suppose to look after the wellbeing of people in my state, district and country. Instead of just complaining to others and crying into my beer.