Newest Members
rhyoung, Jefferson22, OxfordArms, Anony_mous, Drew6991x
12367 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
bluesky (44), Brother B+ (48), emal7717 (53), estuardo (52), kwf777 (56), LeeAnne (30), mapleleafsn (52), otherside (61), ronnie (59), Scott1962 (52), thrive-n-survive (42), tom3065 (36)
Who's Online
4 registered (OxfordArms, JW1230, tbkkfile, 1 invisible), 17 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12367 Members
74 Forums
63562 Topics
444097 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#251400 - 09/27/08 09:05 AM takers vs. givers
Fissy Tsickens Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Bassett, Virginia
Okay, guys. For those who haven't met me yet, I am fairly new to the recovery process. Just began to acknowledge some of my abuse 3 mos ago; gradually more memories are coming out.

Anyway, my thoughts are kind of everywhere these days, going in every direction. I've tried to think/remember about ties/relationships with my abusers, and about my childhood in general. One line of thought I had was, how did my abusers reel me in?

Being in my mid/late-40's, I'm sure many of you guys remember when Hot Wheels came out in 1968. When I was a kid, I was big into Matchbox and Hot Wheels cars (actually still have my "collection" and add to it pretty regularly, especially when I find a VW!). Anyway, had this thought: What if some of those came from abusers, as "gifts" to either "endear" them to me, or to keep me quiet? I thought about this and cannot remember even one of these bastards giving me anything but pain. All of these people were takers. None even tried to pretend they had something to give.

I know this is rambling...kind of a stream of consciousness thing. Sorry. I was just wondering if most of us have similar experiences. I know I've read some posts relating that others have had abusers who treated them nicely to get what they wanted.

Thoughts?

FT

About a home Iíll never see

It may sound absurd...but donít be naive