Newest Members
BCtejas, JHNebraska, mike42069, JACKL, Personman
12491 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
mrwhiskers (25), SouthernLaw (41), TerryT (61)
Who's Online
2 registered (2 invisible), 24 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12491 Members
74 Forums
64159 Topics
447739 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#239569 - 07/22/08 05:36 PM I Know I'm Not Alone, But...
2acceptis2giveup Offline

...I'm getting the initial impression that not many people here were molested by their grandfather.

This is my first time here, and it's taken me months to go from receiving the link to this site in my inbox from my girlfriend (can't use GF to refer to my girlfriend, considering the topic) to signing up and surfing the boards. But I'm finally here, because in the 1970s and possibly early 80s my mom's dad molested me.

It feels selfish to expect to read about others who have had this same particular familial relationship result in CSA. But on the other hand, in some sick way, it feeds my ever-present need to feel unique in a crowd. Thanks, I guess.

My grandpa was a missionary (christian, but not catholic) in a remote 3rd world location. I'm reluctant to mention the exact location because there are others here who may know who he was, because he molested a lot of children, including my mother. It wouldn't surprise me if other male members of my family are on this board.

Anyways, he died last year. It took my mom six months to bother to get around to telling me he had died. Since that point I've been pretty angry, and in January of this year I stopped talking to my mom altogether. It's not the first time I've gone a stretch without talking to her. I had no contact with her from early 1999 to late 2004.