Newest Members
mossTI, E35, 1975, Lucy, StacyR
12337 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Who's Online
1 registered (GT13568), 20 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12337 Members
74 Forums
63422 Topics
443382 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#225978 - 05/23/08 10:02 AM I've got a new job
Grunty1967b Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Australia
After almost 10 years in my old job as a computer software trainer, I was offered a newly created position in another company, a non-profit counselling organisation as it turns out. A little ironic I think.

It took place via a social catch-up with an old boss of mine (from my 10 year job). We’ve kept in touch over the last 5 years and on this recent occasion he asked what I’d been up to. I told him how my department was going through (another) restructure and my continuing job was uncertain. I had also been transferred temporarily to another position (IT Help Desk) for the previous six months. Plus I told him how I’d been the lead person in setting up an online web community and database system.

At all of this he started laughing. I asked him why and he told me how he’d just had a meeting with his manager and told him how he wanted to create a new position to be filled by somebody who had experience in software, IT Help Desk, website development and database design. For him to hear me speak of my recent skills and my uncertain future position it seemed like “one of those moments”. He then asked if I’d be interested in such a position.

As it turns out he did offer me a ‘lesser’ role about 2 years earlier but it was only part time and about one third less than my salary at the time. I said no. This time I expressed my interest but raised the issue of wanting a fulltime position and a salary higher than my current one, otherwise why should I leave for less money just because my current job ‘could’ be in jeopardy?