Newest Members
Xr2, clt, Lumpy, squeekinby, rhyoung
12371 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
drivejoepublic (44), eagle299 (43), H18 (21), JJJ (43), mariposaman (63), SevenTwoTwo76 (39), TexAgMan (37), waiter (44), wgwarch (55)
Who's Online
3 registered (irishguy, lapchinj, Mike26), 30 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12371 Members
74 Forums
63592 Topics
444245 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#212579 - 03/23/08 08:14 PM what do you think of the word caregiver?
roxanne Offline
New Here

I am a woman. I am a wife. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a granddaughter. I am a friend. I am an employee. I am a listener. I am a talker. I am a traveller. I am a cook. I am a reader. I am good company. I care.
17 months ago my husband of 14 years told me of his sexual abuse history for the first time. It was like ten thousand lightbulbs turning on. In one moment, I understood what was not right and had never been right between us.
From that day forward, the professionals and the books that they have written have been telling me that I am now a caregiver. His caregiver. This man who is able-bodied, physically fit, smart, talented, capable, well-liked, my husband, is now my responsibility, my charge.
I wear this label against my will. I perform this function very badly. I am a poor caregiver. I feel bad and guilty that I cannot fulfill this duty in the way they say I must. I fail daily. I can't remember the list of do's and don'ts. I get it wrong every day.
Is this really my role in his recovery? There are so many other things I'd like to be for him.
Who is my caregiver? Do I not get one too?
To the women: do you feel the same?
To the men: do you not feel insulted that your women are being asked be this? What do you want us to be? Is there a role for us at all in your healing process?

#212592 - 03/23/08 09:01 PM Re: what do you think of the word caregiver? [Re: roxanne]
WalkingSouth Offline