Newest Members
ShinTensei, jaklumen, Bennett, 0128, jeremywickers
12505 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Drea (31), gpdno (47), serb guy (49), Thomas8221 (60), UncleClover (43)
Who's Online
6 registered (I Want 2 Thrive, Damian1974, iaccus, 3 invisible), 22 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12505 Members
74 Forums
64198 Topics
447997 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#198740 - 01/09/08 03:51 AM Is this normal?
ErikSA Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Gauteng, South Africa
Hi,

I am new to this site - well, actually I am new to all of this. I was abused 23 years ago and finally started working with my therapist a week ago! Boy, am I confused! Since I started working with my therapist, I started to remember more detail of the abuse and that scares me quite a lot! Is it normal to start remembering so much detail? I know it is going to be tough - but I am not sure if I am ready for this?

Any advise?

Erik

#198751 - 01/09/08 08:23 AM Re: Is this normal? [Re: ErikSA]
roadrunner Offline
Administrator Emeritus
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Carlisle, PA
Erik,

First of all, man, I'm so glad you found us here at MaleSurvivor. For what you're starting to deal with it's important to get all the support you can. Please don't hesitate to talk here about whatever concerns you.

Yes, it's very common for a guy to start dredging up memories as he starts on his recovery. A lot of the time what's happening isn't so much that we're recovering "lost" memories, as allowing ourselves to think about things instead of stuffing everything back as far as possible.

And yes, it gets rough. But always remember these are memories of things that happened a long time ago. You weren't to blame no matter what happened and no matter what lies the abuser told you. It's never ever the child's fault in any way.

Much love,
Larry

This land was made for you and me.
(Woody Guthrie)

#198758 - 01/09/08 09:04 AM Re: Is this normal? [Re: roadrunner]