thirtytwo years ago I was a soldier. Not just any soldier either, I was an infantryman, and very proud of it. Being in the military was a rite of passage for the men in our family.And I was now a man. And no one could take that away from me! It was a done deal. But then one night not long after I arrived in my first primary duty staion, Things went horribly wrong. I had only been overseas for about two months, but I knew a girl downtown who I would spend weekends with. One Sunday night I was getting back from downtown on the bus when the charge of quarters told me to go to the NCO club because my roommate was looking for me. It was only about 500 yardds from the barracks but I really just wanted to go up to my room and go to bed since I knew the next day would start early. But being new in country I also needed all of the friends that I could get, so I turned and headed for the club. When I got there no one was in the large bar area, but the lights were all on indicating that they were getting ready to close.I figured I'd better check the small bar in the back and if he wasn't there I would at least be able to tell him that I had tried. I went back there and there were only two people in the small bar area. The bartender, and a buck sergeant who was staying in our barracks but was assigned to another company. He was being rotated out and was not supposed to have any contact with the people in his company. No one seemed to know the full story except him. I was very surprised when he called my name and told me to get over there. He then told me he was buying me a drink. I didn't want a drink and especially not with him, but I knew the place was closing and I tried to beg off with that but the bartender told him he'd give us ten minutes. I figured there would be no way to get into trouble in ten minutes of drinking, so I told him allroght but I have to go to the bathroom. He threatened me with terrible things if I didn't return. When I got back there was a drink waitin