Newest Members
JayNL, Robert Barrett, lostsoul824, beatcook, MassGuy
12279 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
melnjams (42), rage (27)
Who's Online
2 registered (Obi, 1 invisible), 34 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12279 Members
73 Forums
63191 Topics
441852 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#191092 - 11/12/07 01:29 AM At what point to leave job?
sophiesdad Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Florida
I need some objective observations and suggestions.

On top of dealing with SA issues from my childhood (which continue to plague me), my job is taking its toll on my physical and mental well-being. My profession is one that carries job offers all around the country. However, where I live, life at work has become intolerable. It is not my direct supervisors or even my co-workers. The requirements that are being forced on us "from the top" are driving us to the edge.

I am working 12-14 hour days because, if I didn't, my life would be twice the hell in the coming weeks. I am salaried, so I don't get paid any extra. I leave home at 7:00AM and rarely get home before 7-8PM every day. When I get home, I only have the energy to grab a piece of toast or bowl of cereal and fall asleep in front of the television only to wake up and start all over again.

Those of you who know my past history know of my health problems. Because of multiple back surgeries, I am not sleeping through the night. AFter about 2 hours, pain wakes me and I am forced to get up and walk around. It is difficult to go back to sleep after that.

After the last back operation, my pain doc started to wean me off of the pain meds (have been in pain management since 2000). I am seeing him this week because, as he is lowering the dose, my pain is increasing. This makes me afraid that the doses that I have been taking were masking pain that was still present - I just wasn't feeling it.