Newest Members
JACKL, Personman, SiegmundNYC, TheGreatWhat, MyNameIsPaul
12488 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Alpha (49), AYounglove10 (23), joanne (27), justme62 (52), pontifixmax (44), royjay (46), Steve S. (48)
Who's Online
4 registered (Obi, 3 invisible), 22 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12488 Members
74 Forums
64154 Topics
447645 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#188936 - 10/27/07 04:20 PM Re: First EMDR treatment today [Re: BJK]
River Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Nashville,Tennessee
Bryan, Keep humming.:>)

#188941 - 10/27/07 04:37 PM Re: First EMDR treatment today [Re: River]
Danbuff Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: NY state
I want to say congratulations on the progress I am reading about the theraputic process for all of you. I am not an expert but have researched the value of EMDR as well as written a paper on it in grad school, and know there is enough science to support it and it can be highly effective for overcoming PTSD. I want to stress the importance of a qualified therapist who practices fidelity in doing the therapy. In other words they must be highly trained and skilled in that intervention. I also have heard from a psychologist who is certified in EMDR that it is not good for multiple traumas.. He lectured just a week ago and I recall it vividly. I guess I want to throw in a message of caring that it is wise to be certain the therapist is certified in EMDR therapy. And by codes of ethics, no therapist should ever engage in a treatment they are not fully trained in and comfortable and competant doing, regardless of the efficacy. I encourage you to ask direct questions about that training. But again, it is wonderful to hear that there is hope and there is help.
Be welll guys,
Dan

#188950 - 10/27/07 07:12 PM Re: First EMDR treatment today [Re: Danbuff]
Ken Singer, LCSW Offline
Moderator Emeritus
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Lambertville, NJ USA