Newest Members
JohnWC, KKumar, J44, Anura, reynel5
12420 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
MADcHATTER (54), Ready2MoveOn (44)
Who's Online
2 registered (2 invisible), 26 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12420 Members
74 Forums
63788 Topics
445454 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#181656 - 09/21/07 08:56 PM New Here would like advise
mmac Offline

Loc: PA
hi, i am very new to this . 3 1/2 years in a realtionship with a fantastic man that was abused as a child. I just moved to my own apartment because he quit counseling again and has pushed me out of his life. i would do anything for this man, but hurt him. Help, i do not know what to do?

Edited by walkingsouth (09/21/07 11:58 PM)

I cannot take your steps, but I can walk beside you, if you'll let me.

#181698 - 09/22/07 09:07 AM Re: New Here would like advise [Re: mmac]
sweet-n-sour Offline

Loc: chicago
Dear Mmac:

Hi and welcome to the Family & Friend's forum of Male Survivor. We are here to offer friendship and support to the best of our abilities.

I'm sorry that you have been pushed out of your man's life. Trust is a very difficult thing for a survivor to extend since their entire idea of trust was tarnished at such a young age. It makes sense that when a person is hurt so deeply that a wall of protection is scaled around their hearts from that moment forward. Anyone that manages to get through that barrier causes such discomfort that all they know to do is pull away.

The unfortunate thing is that often times the survivor may keep themself at a safe distance, but they are also missing out on one of the most wonderful experiences of life...a true connection to others and intimacy.