Newest Members
Robert Barrett, lostsoul824, beatcook, MassGuy, wiresguy1
12278 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
carter (51), CAW1980 (34), Fissy Tsickens (53), Kris (52), Wheatthins (23)
Who's Online
1 registered (Mr. Malaise), 26 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12278 Members
73 Forums
63172 Topics
441743 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#168397 - 07/22/07 11:25 AM Massage
des6263 Offline

Loc: midwest, US
I am a certified massage therapist, I was wondering if anyone had incorporated massage into their recovery? I have read some articles on it being used in conjunction with counseling. Just curious if anyone has used it? Any thoughts or in put about the idea?

#168410 - 07/22/07 12:23 PM Re: Massage [Re: des6263]
ScottyTodd Offline
Administrator Emeritus
MaleSurvivor
Loc: Pennsylvania
I know many massage therapists that incorporate massage with counseling. It makes sense! Body memories...touch and relaxation brings sensations that some folks can't understand..etc.

Howard

#168474 - 07/22/07 08:02 PM Re: Massage [Re: ScottyTodd]
Elad 12 Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: on the coast
I have had massage as a part of my recovery and have found it helpful. I know many abuse survivors have a difficult time with bodywork but I enjoy it and feel it works well for me.

Dale

#169015 - 07/25/07 08:12 PM Re: Massage [Re: Elad 12]
theatrekid Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: oregon
having a massage by a stranger sounds terrifying to me.

,chris

#169019 - 07/25/07 08:20 PM Re: Massage [Re: theatrekid]
ttoon Offline
MaleSurvivor

Oh, man...I'm with ya on that one, TK...

Dave

#169049 - 07/25/07 10:47 PM Re: Massage [Re: des6263]
Army Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: California
Hey Des6263,