Newest Members
lilac, The Wife Of, smusab, whiteflag, North101
12287 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
adam319 (46), Bellemaman (36), Bob G. (58), S D Witwicky (38)
Who's Online
11 registered (86, ethereo222, Obi, Cthulhu, 4 invisible), 21 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12287 Members
73 Forums
63226 Topics
442136 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#129137 - 09/16/04 07:55 PM Off-Topic Rant
Doppelganger1 Offline

Loc: Miami, FL
I just need to vent.

I am a retired TV news producer. I didn't retire because I reached a certain age; I retired because I couldn't take the bullshit anymore. The final straw was the deplorable way the Valujet tragedy was handled in the mid-90s. Well, it should have been the final straw, except I held on as a news free-lancer for an additional three years after leaving my job and career. Today, while watching the coverage of Hurricane Ivan's damage, I remembered something that happened in our Miami newsroom on August 24, 1992.

We had all kinds of crews in place for Hurricane Andrew. Our reporters and cameramen were doing an excellent job as the arrival of the category five hurricane drew near. By morning, the storm had passed and many in our newsroom were breathing sighs of relief. Miami Beach? No damage! Ft. Lauderdale? No damage! Hollywood? Looking good. The conclusion: Andrew's bark was worse than its bite. South Florida had dodged a bullet! And then... the calls came in.

Homestead. Country Walk. Florida City. Every building damaged or destroyed.

I was one of those yelling out that we need to move our crews. "COUNTRY WALK! WE NEED TO GO TO COUNTRY WALK!" I don't know who it was that insisted we stay put. "People need to know Miami Beach is okay. They need to know Ft. Lauderdale is okay." That was what we were told, but here was the real key: our crews were in place. We were live. We had airtime to fill. On and on and on.

"COUNTRY WALK. WE NEED TO GO TO COUNTRY WALK."