Newest Members
susanhepp, Breathe, georgetwo, frozen45, lilac
12291 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Guillermo (37), illbedat (26), Mike58 (56), Mnovit (38), Mongo (24), pwdasw (64), Raymond Sean (38), yesac76 (38)
Who's Online
4 registered (4 invisible), 21 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12291 Members
73 Forums
63234 Topics
442181 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#126378 - 03/10/04 06:21 PM i need some advice...
irishguy Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Dublin, Ireland
hey guys,

i need your thoughts on this,i got a call this morning from someone lookin for translator (im a sign language translator),for a court case,it is usually not a problem,,but this case is a child sex abuse case,the victim is a deaf boy and a translator is needed to translate his statement to the police, i dont know what to do ,part of me says "do it,your helping the kid to talk about it" then another part of me is sayin " no,it will hurt you to hear what he says it will bring back your memories"....

im really lost guys... what should i do...

Go raibh míle maith agaibh as bhur gcúnamh!
^^(Thank you very much for your help!)^^

#126379 - 03/10/04 07:12 PM Re: i need some advice...
Bill_1965 Offline
Chat Mod Emeritus
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Flint, Michigan
Wow Irish,

That is a tough decission to make. I don't think that I can say one way or the other.

Doing it could be very hard on you. Bringing memories and feelings of the SA upfront. It definately would take a great deal of strength on your part and could be very rewarding. I don't know if I could handle it, definately could not have handled it a year ago, for that matter three weeks ago. Maybe I could this week (ignoring the fact I can't sign), these last two weeks have been very good.

Then, not doing it could bring feelings of regret and abandonment.