Newest Members
kk90, Austintexan, Cancan, LS, PaulnMA
12256 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
ByondClosedDoors (41), Dave1425 (32), DeafDavid (23), LowSky (57)
Who's Online
4 registered (pufferfish, 3 invisible), 50 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12256 Members
73 Forums
63116 Topics
441393 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#126240 - 02/14/04 07:33 AM art therapy for male survivors
Caetel Offline

Loc: Paris, France
As you may already know I am currently doing a master in art therapy in Paris (in the theatre and dance section). I want to specialize in SA and especially helping male survivors.
I should be participating in the workshop in England this summer. I have found a generous sponsor who in exchange would like me to organize an art therapy workshop for male survivors in Geneva, Switzerland.
I have thrown ideas on a paper but I would like your thoughts. How do you feel about art therapy, issues you would like to tackle through expressing yourself with your voice and body ?
You can also pm me, I'd really appreciate your support with that matter !
Thank you !
Caro

#126241 - 02/14/04 08:15 AM Re: art therapy for male survivors
Lloydy Offline
Administrator Emeritus
MaleSurvivor
Loc: England Shropshire
Caro
Art therapy is something I've not done, but I've heard that it's very powerfull.
Recently at a workshop I did as part of my counselling training we did spend some time doing a bit of a taster though, and I found it very good.

I haven't painted or drawn since I was a kid, and I'm not good at art, but I tried. I was searching for something to paint and I ended up painting a picture of the room I was abused in at school, a dirty, empty room with a split mattress on the floor. But I remember the view from the window across the fields and painted it looking through the window.