Newest Members
Won'tGiveUp, sillyputty, Pytbull, manipulated, donmarks
12383 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
Alan Fountain (52), blindpet (31), egoror (49), Midas (33), uwa (78)
Who's Online
3 registered (Bluedogone, traveler, bluesky), 20 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
12383 Members
74 Forums
63648 Topics
444518 Posts

Max Online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#124507 - 07/22/03 01:47 PM Login names
outis Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Maryland USA
Ok, I've read about the avatar survey in a thread a few weeks ago, and my avatar is so interesting \:D that I didn't participate.

But how about your login name? Some guys are using real names, like Mikey does, but a lot of us chose other names.

People have asked my about mine, and I'm curious to hear about some of yours, too, if that's ok with you.

I studied Greek and Latin in high school. In Greek class we read the Odyssey, in Greek. I had enjoyed mythology since about 5th or 6th grade, and I've read up on mythology of other cultures besides the Greeks just for fun as an adult.

Anyway, I have forgotten most of the Greek I ever knew, except for a few phrases. One of the things I never forgot was the way Odysseus told the Cyclops that his name was "Nobody" (I know, it's "NoMan" in the translation in my sig, but I always thought of it as "Nobody.") The name he used, transliterated to English characters, is outis. My recollection of the pronunciation we used in class is "OOH tis."

When I finally registered here, I didn't want to use a login that I've used anywhere else, like Yahoo or Compuserve. My copy of the Odyssey (in English) was sitting near my computer, where it is now as a matter of fact, and I remembered the name from the class. Together with the quote in my sig it seemed a perfect choice for me when I first came here.

Thanks in part to all of you, I feel much more like a somebody than a nobody today.